ICID Awards

ICID has instituted various awards to recognize the existing heritage structures as well as to recognize the innovative work and encourage the researchers for their outstanding contributions, which promotes efficient utilization of water in agriculture. This initiative promotes a better documentation of the works and also provides motivation to the researchers and innovators engaged in the field by providing them a global platform to share the benefits of their work that addresses the water productivity improvements in the agriculture sector globally. The ICID Awards are presented during the Annual ICID Executive Council Meeting (IEC). An autonomous international panel of judges adjudges the winners every year.

The ICID awards are given in various categories which include:

  • World Irrigation & Drainage Prize
  • WatSave Award
  • Best Performing National Committee
  • Best Performing Workbody
  • Best Paper Prize

INCID coordinates the task of motivating and inviting suitable nominations for the WHIS and WatSave Awards from the India States/UTs. The nominations are screened through site visits by CWC field officials. Post screening, INCID examines the nominations for various eligibility criterias and scope and recommends the deserving nominations to ICID for consideration.

Further, a National Committee for Screening the Nomination for WatSave Awards, World Heritage IrrigationStructure (WHIS) Awards, World Irrigation and Drainage Prize etc of ICID was constituted, in September 2020, under the Chairmanshipof Member (WP&P), Central Water Commission with Members drawn from Indian NationalCommittee on Irrigation and Drainage (INCID). In addition to screening of the nominations at the national level against the laid criteria for each category of ICID awards, the National Committee also verifies the authentication of the works done, innovation or application, as the case may be. The order details of the National Committee may be accessed here. (order attached).

Access for more details on ICID awards.